Either you have it, or you don’t; there is no middle ground.

$100 bill

Either you have money and can get a good education, and publish your books, or you don’t stand a snowball’s chance in hell of being published. This is not the view of a bitter writer who despite being called a BestSeller https://hereiamattheedge.blogspot.co.uk/2017/10/the-record-breaker.html#.WeD-lUuGPrc never made the cut. This is the reality of the reality of the publishing world.

I said at the start, nine years ago, and I say again, “It doesn’t matter what degree you have; people will think you know what you’re writing about. I have seen work from writers with degrees that would make a fifth-grade teacher cringe, yet they sell books because they can put BA after their names. I was asked to edit a text once, the opening page had so many mistakes I had a migraine after half an hour. I had to rewrite the story there were so many mistakes, and this was after it came back from Xlibris.

To those who don’t know, Xlibris is the most significant scam in the publishing industry. All companies make errors, but these people made so many they had over 40 pages of complaints on one site I was reading.

If you have money, you can keep sending to publishers and editors. You can go on tours to promote your work; I got invited to go to the USA once, but I had to put up $£1500 before the project got to the starting grid. As an Indie writer, I am continually weighing outlay against possible income, that is why my final act was buying a cover for my romance http://alsdomain.weebly.com/life-as-an-indie-ghostwriter/another-bargain#.WeEA4UuGPrc, I couldn’t afford the cover, but as a last gasp, I bought it.

Alan-72dpi-1500x2000 (1)

I know several writers, who people tell me are not as good as me, but they are in the USA and can afford publicity, here in the UK it stinks being a writer. No matter what people say http://alsdomain.weebly.com/whats-happening/i-am-a-good-writer. I tried numerous magazines in various countries to no avail     https://hereiamattheedge.blogspot.co.uk/2016/10/small-publications.html#.WeECBUuGPrd, because I was a nobody, most of the time my emails went unanswered.

Leave a Reply

