My last long walk

20229888_10214208238099193_8686240144531868111_oThis is a photograph that I took of  Chew Valley http://alsdomain.weebly.com/free-reads/dundry#.WXsNubIrLrc from Dundry hill  https://hereiamattheedge.blogspot.co.uk/2017/07/chew-valley.html#.WXsON7IrLrc a few days ago, while I was on the last of my long walks.

The reason this walk will be the last long walk I take is that in getting away from family rows, the reason for the walks, I have injured my right ankle to the extent I can no longer walk more than a few paces without severe pain.  I expect that by October (my 61st birthday) I shall be in a wheelchair; I have been fighting this day for seventeen years, and the fight is over.

When I was told of my genetic inheritance, I expected to be in a wheelchair by the age of 50, so I have nothing to complain about. I have thought about this day many times over the years but how prepared am I to be dependent on others?

Leave a Reply

